How to Fix “Keyset does not exist” for Scheduled Tasks in Windows

The full error that I received when accessing the schedule tasks was:

General page initialization failed.
The specific error is:
0x80090016: Keyset does not exist
An error has occurred attempting to retrieve task account information.
You may continue editing the task object, but will be unable to change the task account information.

I haven’t seen this error before, it it prevented my schedule task from running. I went online to see what I could find and eventually found a solution that worked for me. I outline the steps to the solution below.

Steps to Correct the Keyset Does Not Exist Issue:

After performing some research, I found out that the local system private keys used by the “Cryptographic Services” service had become corrupted. I simply used the following steps to correct the issue:

I stopped the “Cryptographic Services” service.

  1. I then double-clicked “My Computer”, and then clicked “Folder Options” on the “Tools” menu.
  2. On the “View” tab, I clicked “Show hidden files and folders”, and then clicked “OK”.
  3. I deleted all of the files in the “C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Crypto\RSA\S-1-5-18″
  4. I then restarted the “Cryptographic Services” service.
Leave a Reply

